Dreams of Interfaith Camping

My teenager and pre-teen are off at a sleepaway camp founded by Quakers:  it has a lovely weekly ecumenical reflection time outdoors, called “dell.” I have often thought about sending them to a Jewish summer camp to reinforce their knowledge of things Jewish and give them a stronger sense of the Jewish community. But I can’t quite get over the reality that “sending them to Jewish camp” is an overt part of the institutional strategy to get interfaith kids to identify as Jews. Which in the case of my kids, would require them to convert. Jews are not generally known for their missionary zeal, but in the case of interfaith families, there has been some pretty aggressive recruiting going on, and I have tried to protect my children from being exposed to this, at least until adulthood. They are perfectly happy with their interfaith identities.

Meanwhile, interfaith communities–with religious education programs, community service programs, adult discussion groups, holiday celebrations, and even weekly services of music and reflection—are sprouting up around the country. I would love to see an interfaith camp for children and teens evolve as a next step. Interfaith children from across America could meet each other, understand that they are part of a nationwide movement, and explore their interfaith identities without pressure to choose a particular religion. They could celebrate Shabbat and get a taste of communal kibbutz living with other interfaith kids, but also sing “Peace Like A River” and “Dona Nobis Pacem.”

Our interfaith community is often described as a utopian bubble, someplace apart from the “real world.” Interfaith Camp would be a summertime utopian bubble—a safe place out in the woods somewhere for kids to be who they are, without pressure from an adult world obsessed with binary “either/or” labeling.  I wish I had been to such a camp. I still wish I could go. Maybe if we build it, they will come. We could even have a “Family Week” for all ages.  I’m going to grab my ukulele and my watercolor set, and meet you there.

Explore posts in the same categories: interfaith community, Interfaith Identity

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “Dreams of Interfaith Camping”

  1. bethany Says:

    “adult world obsessed with binary “either/or” labeling.” Love it.

    YOU should build such a camp. I think it would be great and I would sign my kids up in in a heartbeat…even if we’re not interfaith. We’re all-faiths. Mik and I were just talking about how interesting it would be to know more about the Sufi religion. But then again, we’re nerds.

  2. Danny Says:

    To foment interfaith camping or other institutions we need to foster an interfaith ethic, that is, acknowledgement and serious acceptance of the statements “we’re both” and “we practice both.” To do this our society has to venture beyond the safe havens of secularism and ecumenicalism which keep religions compartamentalized and bravely go into the wilds of theological miscegenation. Perhaps we are afraid to do this because of the implied insult in telling the world of believers that there is more than one faith.

  3. sharron Says:

    I wanna come, too!

  4. Rachel Says:

    http://regions.adl.org/new-england/programs/adls-camp-if-interfaith.html I had friends who participated in this program, and loved it.


    • It looks great. But it’s not for interfaith kids. It’s for kids of different faiths to interact. What I would like to see is these types of “interfaith dialogue” programs reaching out to interfaith kids and realizing we have unique skills in interfaith communication and understanding.


Leave a Reply

