My Debut on Jewcy.com…

Interfaith Rings, photo Susan Katz MillerCheck out my first post on Jewcy.com. According to The Guardian“Jewcy has become a cultural icon at the forefront of a new wave of Jewish culture and pride.” The Jewcy editors describe themselves as “devoted to helping Jews and their peers expand the meaning of community by presenting a spectrum of voices, content, and discussion.” So do they consider me a Jew or a peer? I don’t know, but they read my blog and liked it enough to invite me to write for them, and I like the fact that they have the chutzpah to consort with me.

My avatar (the little photo that signifies a post or comment from me) on Jewcy is these interlocking rings, signifying the three spaces inhabited by interfaith children (Jewish, interfaith, and Christian). The interlocking rings are also the logo for the Interfaith Families Project of Greater Washington.

We’ll see how it goes. So far, I’m getting flamed on their site, as I thoroughly expected to be, by people telling me I’m not Jewish enough. But hey, the traffic to On Being Both just shot through the roof as Jewcy readers check out my blog, also as expected. So maybe a few of these readers, while not sticking their necks out to defend me on Jewcy, were looking for a blog like mine and will become loyal readers of On Being Both.

In the meantime, don’t worry. My primary blog is still On Being Both, because this is the community devoted to grappling with being interfaith children, and interfaith parents.

The internet seems to be quickly destroying journalism as we know it and the possibility of being paid for content. Painful. On the other hand, before blogging, I would not have been able to obsessively communicate and interact with the interfaith community around the world.

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Interfaith Identity

One Comment on “My Debut on Jewcy.com…”

  1. Mary Beth C Says:

    Sue
    Love your post on Jewcy and hope there are many more to come! It is beautifully written, while compelling and thoughtful. Fascinating comments and a great discussion started. Will follow with keen interest as this moves forward,
    MB


Leave a Reply

